CTV To Carry Live Coverage For First Time Of NASCAR Canadian Tire Series Opener

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (May 16, 2013) – CTV, Canada’s most-watched television network for the past 10 years in a row, is broadcasting the 2013 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1 season opener for the first time live from Canadian Tire Motorsport Park on Sunday, May 19.

Coverage of Sunday’s Pinty’s presents the Vortex Brake Pads 200 will begin at 1 p.m. ET. (visit CTV.ca for local listings).

The NASCAR Canadian Tire Series will also air live on TSN for the Sunday, Sept. 1 race at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. The 2.459-mile road course is located near Bowmanville, Ontario, and is an hour drive from Toronto.

The two live broadcasts highlight the 2013 television schedule, announced today, for the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series.

“Kicking off the season live on CTV is a huge opportunity to showcase the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series and its competitive brand of racing to fans across Canada,” said George Silbermann, NASCAR vice president for touring and weekly series. “This is a tremendous opening to a television package that brings fans all the action and excitement of Canada’s top motorsports series. The historic broadcast coverage is a direct result of the dedication that our partners, Canadian Tire and TSN, have to motorsports in Canada.”

The Sept. weekend is shared with the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, and the historic date marks the first race held outside the United States in the more than 18-year history of the series.

The 10 remaining Canadian Tire Series events in 2013 will have a one-hour show telecast nationally on a tape-delayed basis on both the TSN and RDS platforms, with the exception of the Sept. 21 championship finale at Kawartha Speedway which will be a 90-minute special.

Additionally, TSN will air a season in review show telecast on Saturday, Nov. 30.

TSN, Canada’s Sports Leader, has been the television home for the series since its inception in 2007, while RDS and RDS2 – the French-language sister stations to TSN – are telecasting all of the races for the third consecutive season. The French-language telecasts all will be carried by RDS2. The three Quebec events – Circuit ICAR, Autodrome St. Eustache and Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres – also will be shown on RDS.

The programs are produced by Fuel MediaLab and NASCAR Productions which include race coverage, driver interviews and features. All coverage will be broadcast in HD.

For the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series broadcasts on TSN, Dave Bradley will handle the play-by-play duties with Billy Rowse Jr. and Adam Ross will provide color analysis. They will be joined by pit reporters Todd Lewis and Spencer Lewis. TSN’s Vic Rauter will join the team for the live telecasts. Didier Schraenen and Eric Descarries will handle calling the action on the RDS side.

Along with their NASCAR Canadian Tire Series coverage, TSN and RDS are the official broadcasters of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and NASCAR Nationwide Series in Canada. 

2013 NASCAR CANADIAN TIRE SERIES BROADCAST SCHEDULE ON TSN & RDS

Race Date Venue TSN/TSN2 Premiere RDS/RDS2 Premiere
May 19 Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (road course) Sun., May 19, 1 p.m. * Fri., June 14, 9 p.m.
June 15 Delaware Speedway Sun., June 23, 1 p.m. Mon., July 8, 9 p.m.
June 22 Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (speedway) Sun., June 30, 1 p.m. Fri., July 19, 11 p.m.
July 7 Circuit ICAR Sun., July 14, 11 a.m. Fri., July 26, 11 p.m.; Sat., July 27, 10 a.m. (RDS)
July 13 Motoplex Speedway Sun., July 21, 1:30 p.m. Sat., Aug. 3, 7 p.m.
July 17 Auto Clearing Motor Speedway Sun., July 28, 11 a.m. Fri., Aug. 16, 11 p.m.
July 27 Autodrome St. Eustache Sun., Aug. 4, 11 a.m. Sat., Aug. 24, 11 p.m.; Sun., Aug. 25, 10 a.m. (RDS)
Aug. 11 Circuit de Trois-Rivieres Sun.., Aug. 18, 11 a.m. Fri.., Aug. 30, 7 p.m.; Sun., Sept. 8, 10 a.m. (RDS)
Aug. 17 Riverside International Speedway Sun., Aug. 25, 1 p.m. Fri., Sept. 13, 7 p.m.
Sept. 1 Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (road course) Sun., Sept. 1, 11 a.m. ‡ Fri., Sept. 27, 8 p.m.
Sept. 7 Barrie Speedway Sat., Sept. 14, 2 p.m. Fri., Oct. 4, 8 p.m.
Sept. 21 Kawartha Speedway Sun., Oct. 6, 5:30 p.m. ^ Fri., Oct. 18, 9 p.m.
2013 Year In Review Sat., Nov. 30, 1 p.m. —-

Subject  to change. Check local listings for updated broadcast times. All times ET.

* Scheduled live telecast on CTV

‡ Scheduled live telecast on TSN

^ Telecast on TSN2